The Basketball Association of America (BAA) was founded in 1946 by owners of the major sports halls of the Northeast and Mid-west. The 11 teams opened the curtain on the inaugural 1946-47 season were Boston Celtics, Philadelphia Warriors, New York Knicks, Washington Capitols, Providence Steamrollers, Toronto Huskies, Chicago Stags, St. Louis Bombers, Cleveland Rebels, Detroit Falcons and Pittsburgh Ironmen . Only three of those teams have survived until today: Boston Celtics, New York Knicks and Golden State Warriors. Of these, only Boston Celtics and New York Knicks have not moved from city being considered for these reasons as two of the most representative and historical league teams. In contrast, the Warriors were born in Philadelphia in 1962 to move to San Francisco and Oakland in 1971,

In the regular season each team plays 82 games. The teams face opponents from their own division four times; to those of the other two divisions of the conference, three or four times; and against the other conference twice a year. Therefore, a computer may be easy or difficult schedule, depending on the division or conference at which it is located.


National League was founded in 1876 and had numerous changes of equipment in its early years. From 1900 to 1952 featured eight teams in Boston, Chicago, Cincinnati, Philadelphia, New York (Brooklyn Dodgers and New York Giants), Pittsburgh and St. Louis.

American League was founded in 1901 with eight teams in Baltimore, Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Philadelphia, Milwaukee and Washington. 1902 Milwaukee Brewers became the St. Louis Browns. Meanwhile, Baltimore Orioles in 1903 became the New York Highlanders, then New York Yankees in 1913. Thus, the league had teams in Boston, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Philadelphia, New York, St. Louis and Washington since 1903 until 1953.

A season normally lasts from April to September. Each team plays 162 regular season games. This duration was established in 1961. From 1898 to 1960, 154 games were played. Originally, the games were played between teams from the same league. In 1997, the direction of Major League Baseball introduced interleague play.


NFL growth in early 1958, was so quick and strong that managed to surpass baseball as the favorite of fans of the United States of America sport. This also aroused the interest of entrepreneurs and their appetite for buying an existing franchise or create a new one. Such was the case of Texan businessman Lamar Hunt, who submitted a bid, which ultimately was rejected. This caused Hunt and some other businessmen decided to form a new ten teams association which they called American Football League (AFL), which would become a serious rival to the NFL.

In an agreement signed by the founder Lamar Hunt AFL and the manager of the Dallas Cowboys Tex Schramm, the two leagues officially announced their merger on 8 June 1966. The leagues have a common draft and organize a party for season finale to decide the champion between the two leagues (Super Bowl), which over the years would become the highest symbol of football and more viewers celebration held every year worldwide.


This league was officially founded on November 26, 1917 in Montreal (Canada), from four teams from a previous championship created in 1909, the National Hockey Association. Originally all clubs were Canadian, until expanded in 1924 To united states. From 1942 to 1967, the league had only six teams: the Boston Bruins, Chicago Black Hawks, Detroit Red Wings, Montreal Canadiens, Toronto Maple Leafs and New York Rangers. NHL increased the number of teams to 12 in the 1967 season, 18 teams in 1974 and 21 teams in 1979.

The finals champion wins the Stanley Cup, the oldest professional sports trophy in North America, created in 1893. The most successful teams have been 24 titles Montreal, Toronto 13, Detroit 11, Boston and Chicago six, and Edmonton Oilers and Pittsburgh Penguins 5.

The NHL is considered by the International Ice Hockey Federation as the most important league in the world in their sport. In addition, it is one of the four major sports leagues that exist in North America, with the NBA (basketball), NFL (American football) and MLB (baseball).


Was founded on May 21, 1904 in the back building of the headquarters of the Union Française des Sports Athletiques Rue Saint Honoré the n ° 229. proxies of France, Belgium, Denmark, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland signed the minutes foundational.

On 1 May 1904 met for the first time in an official international match in France and Belgium. Professional football began to organize internationally.

the first FIFA Statutes were prepared and the following matters were determined: the reciprocal and exclusive recognition of national associations present and represented; the ban on clubs and players were playing simultaneously to different national associations; mutual recognition of expulsion orders issued by other associations and organization of parties based on the Laws of the Game of the Football Association Ltd. The first Statutes was agreed to enforce these provisions from 1 September 1904. FIFA had provisionally to facilitate the recruitment of new members. The day of the foundation, the German Football Association sent a telegram confirming its adherence to the Statute.